Zucchini Pie

Yes, I know, it sounds strange. That’s exactly what I thought when I first read this recipe. I was at wits end, the zucchini was taking over the fridge!.I thought this recipe was so different I had to try it. It started as a side dish with dinner, but it was so much like apple pie we ended up eating the rest with ice cream! To be fair, I was too lazy to peel and seed the zucchini and I also mixed zucchini and yellow summer squash, so I didn’t follow the recipe exactly. If anyone else is looking for ways to use up their zucchini and try this, I’d love to hear what you thought of it.

Zucchini Pie (single crust)

1-9″ pie crust                  1 c. sugar

4-5 c. peeled, seeded and sliced zucchini                     2 T. lemon juice

1/2 c. flour                         2 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 c. butter

Place half the zucchini in raw crust. Cut butter into flour. Add sugar, lemon juice, and cinnamon; mix well. Sprinkle half of this mixture over the zucchini already in the crust. Layer the rest of the zucchini. Top with rest of mixture. Bake at 400 degrees for 50 minutes.

Zucchini Pie

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Zucchini Pie

  1. It’s like apple pie and can be eaten with ice cream!?! Oh my!! I’m adding this to my zucchini recipe file. ‘Tis the season for squash! Thanks for sharing 🙂
    Kim

Leave a Reply

