Sovereign Estate Wines

As I mentioned in my last blog, I was invited to a grand opening party for a new winery. I was going to write about it as soon as I got home that night, but I had other things to write about. You’ll have to read my last post if you missed it.

Anyway, the party was so fun I wanted to tell you about it, even if it was a few days later. Sovereign Estate Wines is located overlooking Lake Waconia. I was blown away at the beauty of the estate. Huge trees provided a green canopy to shield the hot evening sun. It was such a peaceful setting for an evening stroll. If strolling isn’t your thing, there are plenty of bistro tables to simply sit and enjoy a bottle of wine.

For this party, there was a catered meal, but you can have a picnic basket made up anytime. The food was outstanding, but more importantly, so was the wine. I didn’t get to do a full tasting, as I had to drive myself home, but the glass of wine I enjoyed with my meal was great. I had Talon Crest, which was a semi-dry white wine. To me it smelled like pears, but it claims to be apricot. It was a delightful, fruity, light wine, perfect for a hot summer evening. I purchased a bottle to take home and should have bought a case, because it’s already gone.

As soon as the farmer has a free evening, I plan to go back and do the full tasting. We may even try out a picnic basket and stay for a while. This winery is a little off the beaten path, but it’s well worth the trip.

This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

