Happy Anniversary!

Eight years ago today I tied my life to the farmer’s. It was a beautiful summer day spent surrounded by our friends and families as we celebrated the start of our life together. Eight years later I’m a little surprised at how much of a farmer I’ve become. I was determined to not get involved with the farm. Before we got married I told the farmer I would support his farming as long as I didn’t have to be a part of it.

Funny how much things can change in eight years! I started this day much differently than our wedding day. In fact, I didn’t even remember it was our anniversary! It’s been REALLY HOT  and really humid. It’s been hard on those of us who have to work in it and really hard on the livestock. Yesterday we had a small heifer go down. She was just too hot. The herdsmen did everything in their power to cool her down yesterday afternoon. Sometimes there is nothing left to do put wait and pray. This was one of those times.

This morning I got up early, as I’ve been doing for the past few days, trying to beat the heat. I haven’t beat it yet, but I’ve tried. I was out the door before the farmer this morning. I rushed out to check on the down heifer. She was alive, but still unable to stand long. I called the farmer to come take a look before he left. Neither of us thought to wish the other a happy anniversary since we were concerned about taking care of the heifer. I hauled water and feed to her, which she happily accepted. More waiting and praying for her.

The farmer left for the dairy and I continued with morning chores. I was almost done when he sent me a text message, wishing me a happy anniversary. Hard to believe he thought of it first!

Tonight, instead of celebrating, I sweated through chores. Our down heifer was getting pestered by her pen mates who kept stealing her food, so she was moved to a different part of the shed. Now she’s resting with all the water and food she wants. Hopefully tomorrow she’ll be stronger. The farmer is unloading straw at his parent’s farm, so no romantic dinner for us. I just made a bowl of popcorn, which is my go to meal for times I’m too tired to cook. The farmer will get a frozen pizza whenever he gets home. (If I’m still awake!)

After 8 years of being married to a dairy farmer, I’m getting used to the farm and the cattle running my life. What surprises me is I don’t really mind too much. We’ll celebrate when we have time and watch our animals closely in this heat until then. I hope everyone else is staying cool!

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

