Easter and Fresh Starts

As I pack for a weekend off the farm with my family my mind has been whirling. The events of this week have given me so much to read and think about. (See post Heartbreak and Anger) I have been conversing with people I’ve never talked to before. Some of them have them same feelings and views on the video as I do. Others are vegan and refuse to use anything coming from animals. While I respectfully disagree with their lifestyle, it is their life to live. I may not agree with their views on everything, but I’d like think we could still find some respect for each other.

My only request of the people I was talking with is the same request I have for any meat-eating readers. Please realize the majority of dairy farmers love their animals and treat them with respect.  Any who do not, should not be in the business of raising animals, for any reason.

This Easter, as I am away from the heifers, I will be worrying about them. Even though they will be in good hands. I will be thinking about all the farmers who miss church with their families because they have animals to care for. I will be thinking of all the farmers who must rush away from Easter dinner because the animals must also eat.

I hope as you sit down with your families this Easter, you may also have this in the back of your mind. We wouldn’t be doing what we do if we didn’t love it. The work is hard and the hours are long.

I hope as we remember that our sins were washed away, we too can have a fresh start with one another. This world is a big place, with room for many views. It’s a much nicer world when we can respectfully disagree and maybe even learn a little from each other.

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Easter and Fresh Starts

  1. cb lasley says:

    Easter blessings to you and your family.
    Also remember while you are away the Lord is watching over you and yours ( including your heifers) : ) And He is faithful so have a peaceful time away.

  2. Karla Malo says:

    What a great blog! I like the saying on my flip calender today “Don’t worry about tomorrow, God is already there”! Blessings to all farmers everywhere who are some of the hardest working people I know!

Leave a Reply

