Heartbreak and Anger

Yesterday morning I watched the latest undercover video released by Mercy For Animals. I was horrified. I would recommend not watching it. The farmer told me not to watch it. He said he only made it 30 seconds into the 3 minute video before he had to turn it off.  I felt like I had to see what was in it, so I would know how to respond if asked about it.

The first images of the video are so graphic and clearly animal abuse, NOT the day to day activities on a dairy farm. I was sick to my stomach and my heart was breaking as I watched a worker repeatedly hitting calves over the head with a pick-ax. This is NOT how animals are put down on the vast majority of farms. It was unclear in the video, to me anyway, if these calves did need to be put down or not.

I want EVERYONE to know that sometimes on a farm an animal is just too sick to get better. On most farms everything in the farmer’s power and usually a vet’s power has been done first. We don’t want to see animals have to be put down, but sometimes it’s necessary. Some farms have a vet some out and give a lethal injection. On our farm there are only a few people who are allowed to put an animal down. We use a gun, simply put. I can’t tell you the type of gun or the exact spot to hit on the animal, because I don’t know. I do know however, because I’ve witnessed it, it takes one shot and the animal is dead immediately. If it takes more, then you shouldn’t be doing it. The few times we’ve had to put a heifer down on our farm, the farmer is clearly shaken about the task. We care deeply about our animals, because we depend on them just as much as they depend on us. What was happening in the video was not simply putting an animal down. It was abuse, plain and simple.

It saddens me greatly, that this goes on anywhere in the world. I wondered how a so-called “animal rights activist” could watch something like that happening without stepping in. Had I witnessed that, I would’ve had to say something to the employee doing it, the farm’s owner, and the local law enforcement. I certainly would not have went back to the farm for weeks and I would not have waited a month before saying anything.

It also saddens me and make me angry, that Mercy for Animals lumped all dairy farmers into a group with this farm. Saying that this goes on everywhere is like saying all of the human race is exactly like hardened criminals in federal prison. Most people would agree the average person is not like a hardened criminal. The average dairy farm is not like the farm the video shows.

I want everyone to be sickened if they see the video. You should be. If you watch it and don’t think there’s something wrong, then I would question your values. However, I want you to know, this does not happen on most farms. If you don’t believe me, than find a dairy farm in your area and call them. Ask questions. I believe you should know where your food is coming from and I also believe you should find the truth for yourself. Mercy for Animals doesn’t care about educating consumers. They find the bad apple and capitalize on it. They want to shock you and make you so horrified you never want to use an animal product again. That’s your right as a consumer. I just hope you do your own homework.

If you have questions, please feel free to ask them. I don’t know everything about the dairy industry, but I can ask the farmer and we can find answers for you. I want you to feel good about the milk you drink, the cheese you eat, and everything else the dairy industry works hard to produce. We’re proud to be a part of this industry. We love what we do and the animals we work with everyday, 365 days a year.

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Heartbreak and Anger

  1. Pingback: Farmers who care about animals. « Ray-Lin Dairy

Leave a Reply

