No One to Thank, but Ourselves

I’ve recently jumped into the world of Twitter. You can follow me @farmerswife30. While looking for interesting people to follow I’m finding myself thinking about our food. Go figure! I think we have a real problem in this country. People talk about eating organic. That’s fine, and in some ways I agree, but I think it’s more about educating ourselves about where our food is coming from than just looking for an organic label.

In the summers I work for a lady who sells fruits and vegetables in her barn. She grows most of it on her farm, organically. I watch car after car drive out from the cities to buy her organic vegetables and get honey from her bees. It’s great having her fresh, homegrown tomatoes for a BLT or her peppers and onions for stir-fry. They’re organic and delicious, but what about the organic food coming from the other side of the world. You can’t tell me all that time spent in transit doesn’t matter.

I think more emphasis should be placed on knowing where your food comes from than a label claiming to be organic. Maybe I’m crazy, but I don’t trust that something coming from a different country and claiming to be organic is actually organic. I know there are rules and regulations, but come on, do we really send people all over the world checking into these things?

Most of the food at the grocery store I am suspicious of, mostly because of our over-processed culture. When did we get so lazy? Hey, I’m just as guilty as the next guy. I don’t want to come in from the barn and slave away over the stove either. It’s great to have so much food you can get on the table in a matter of minutes…until you read the ingredients and nutritional information. It’s no wonder we have so many health problems as a nation!

It didn’t used to be like this. Our great-great-grandparents had gardens and chickens. They worked all summer so they could eat all winter. Vegetables were canned and frozen. Onions and potatoes were put in root cellars. Meat was cured. They knew where their food came from and most of it wasn’t the grocery store.

I guess that’s more my point here, it’s not so much organic vs. conventional.  It’s about looking for your food locally and knowing how it gets to your plate. This country is sorely lacking in that department. I once mentioned something about the steer standing out in the feedlot becoming hamburger and the girl standing next to me said, “That’s where hamburger comes from? Eeww!” I couldn’t believe my ears! She was only one generation removed from a farm.

This country desperately needs reform in our food system, in my opinion. We have no one to thank but ourselves, the consumers. Nothing will change until we take a stand and start learning! If we quite buying the crap this country passes off as food, the food giants will quite making it! It’s time to get back to the basics.

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No One to Thank, but Ourselves

  1. Amanda says:

    OMG lady, are you reading my mind?!?!?!?! I LOVE this post, and might just link it to my blog 🙂 Hope you are well!

  2. zweberfarms says:

    As an organic farmer and consumer, I try to buy organic as much as possible. But like you I want to support the local farmers around me first. I am an enages consumer who wants know who and how my food is produced. Sometimes that doesn’t fall in a “label” The organic seal is great for those that don’t have connections to a farmers, but like you said it is better to buy close to home first.
    Emily

Leave a Reply

