Who needs the zoo?

This morning started out routine enough. Alarm goes off, hit snooze a couple of times, throw on chore clothes, and head down to the barn. I’ve been keeping my eyes open for any strange critters, mostly a coyote or fox, since I’ve been seeing tracks. Yesterday I didn’t see any besides the usual rabbit and cat tracks. This morning I was all done feeding the ladies and was walking to the furthest pen from the barn. I always start my morning walk through there, so I end up closer to the house. I walk through all the pens, looking for sick heifers and frozen water.

Before I made it to the pen I found more tracks. Whatever made them was right up by the heifers walking around and then went out into the field and who knows where. There were so many tracks this morning I’m not positive it was just one animal! I don’t know if whatever is would bother the heifers or not. I’m thinking a trail camera may be in my future, either that or a late night stake out. Considering I’m not a night owl and it’s really cold at night, I’ll put money on the trail camera. I guess I could stop looking at the ground when I walk and then all these tracks wouldn’t be making me crazy with curiosity!

Now that I think about it, I should look up a little more often. Before I saw the tracks this morning, I saw a bald eagle soaring over the farm. I see them once in a while here and it never stops thrilling me. There is something so cool about a bird that was almost extinct flying overhead,  just like it’s supposed to be there. It gives me goosebumps!

I know I’m supposed to be writing about life on a farm, not wildlife, but wildlife is part of my life here. The deer eat my flowers in the summer and the dog gets sprayed by a skunk at least once a year. It just reminds me the wildlife was here first and they’re not going anywhere. They’re a lot more fun to see here than the zoo!

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

